History of the FFA Enrichment Center

Beginning with the inception of the Iowa FFA Foundation in 1986, a dream for a conference center dedicated specifically to helping our next generation of agricultural leaders develop their potential for Premier Leadership, Personal Growth and Career Success was cultivated.  In 1991 a formal fundraising campaign was publicly launched to seek this dream. Through tireless efforts by capital campaign members, FFA members and chapters, and numerous individuals the FFA Enrichment Center celebrated groundbreaking on the Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) campus on October 8, 2007.

In early 2010, after nearly 25 years of work, the FFA Enrichment Center officially opened our doors. The FFA Enrichment Center’s dedication and open house was held on April 17, 2010 and welcomed nearly 400 people to take their first look at the exciting, new and innovative conference center, Iowa FFA Foundation headquarters and DMACC’s agricultural course facility.

In addition to offering more than 20,000 square feet of space for various conferences, meetings and events, the FFA Enrichment Center was designed with unique tools and resources to enhance the educational experience include computer smart systems and STEM laboratories, high-speed internet connectivity and state of the art classrooms.

The FFA Enrichment Center is the result of a vision and immense hard work from Iowa FFA Foundation leaders, statewide Iowa FFA Chapters, donors and DMACC officials who are dedicated to Iowa youth and agriculture.

The letters "FFA" stood for Future Farmers of America; however, in 1988 the official name of the organization was changed from "Future Farmers of America" to "The National FFA Organization" to reflect the growing diversity of agriculture.



Crystal level donors ensured the viability and success of our efforts by provided more than one million dollars each towards the FFA Enrichment Center.  Crystal donors include:
Stine Seed Company
Dennis & Susan Albaugh
City of Ankeny
Des Moines Area Community College
Iowa Farm Bureau Federation
Monsanto Company (Bayer)
Additional key donors included:
Farm Credit Services of America
Iowa Pork Producers Association
John Deere Des Moines Operations & John Deere Finance
Pioneer Hi-Bred (Corteva)
Nationwide Foundation
Terra Industries (CF Industries)
Steve Juelsgaard.


The prestigious "High 5" status is granted to FFA chapters that fund-raise at minimum $5,000 for the FFA Enrichment Center. The following chapters have been granted "High 5" status:

  • Adair-Casey FFA Chapter at Adair
  • Algona FFA Chapter
  • Audubon FFA Chapter
  • Benton Community FFA Chapter at Van Horne
  • Boone A&M FFA Chapter
  • Carroll Area FFA Chapter
  • Central Lee FFA Chapter at Donnellson
  • Collins-Maxwell FFA Chapter at Maxwell
  • Colo-Nesco FFA Chapter at Colo
  • Columbus FFA Chapter at Columbus Junction
  • East Sac FFA Chapter at Lake View
  • Elk Horn-Kimballton FFA Chapter at Elk Horn
  • Emmetsburg FFA Chapter
  • Fairfield FFA Chapter
  • Harlan FFA Chapter
  • Louise-Muscatine FFA Chapter at Letts
  • Lynnville Sully FFA Chapter at Sully
  • Maple Valley FFA Chapter at Mapleton
  • Monticello FFA Chapter
  • Nashua-Plainfield FFA Chapter at Nashua
  • Newton FFA Chapter
  • Northeast Hamilton FFA Chapter at Blairsburg
  • Panorama FFA Chapter at Panora
  • Pleasantville FFA Chapter
  • Prairie Valley FFA Chapter at Gowrie
  • Reno Smith FFA Chapter at Villisca
  • Seymour FFA Chapter
  • Southeast Polk FFA Chapter at Pleasant Hill
  • Tri-Center FFA Chapter at Neola
  • Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank
  • West Liberty FFA Chapter
  • West Lyon FFA Chapter at Inwood
  • Winterset FFA Chapter



Pictured above are representatives for each Crystal sponsor, from left to right: Dan Hansen on behalf of Stine Seed Company; Dennis Albaugh; Steve Van Oort, Mayor of Ankeny on behalf of the City of Ankeny; Joe Pugel, Chair of the DMACC Board of Directors on behalf of the Des Moines Area Community College; Scott Greenfield on behalf of Monsanto; and Denny Presnall, Executive Director of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation.